Private museum "Firearms then & now"
The foundation walls of the listed Reckturm tower date back to the early 13th century.
The tower initially served to protect the town and, from the beginning of the modern era, was used as an office and prison, including for "painful interrogation".
Towards the end of the 19th century, work began on demolishing the Reckturm and the adjacent city wall. In 1901/1902, however, the Wiener Neustadt art historian Franz Staub succeeded in having the demolition work stopped and began the historicising reconstruction of the tower in the style of the 15th century.
Today, the Reckturm houses a small privately run weapons museum. Among other things, visitors can view firearms from 1630 to 1950, as well as historical cutting and stabbing weapons and equipment used by the imperial army.
Visits
- Admission: Free donation
- Visits: By appointment only