Wiener Neustadt

A direct route from the well-located Wiener Neustadt to the Vienna Alps

A connection to the mountains and a starting point for excursions to the Vienna Alps: Wiener Neustadt offers short routes to the countryside with urban flair.

In the beautiful basin of Wiener Neustadt, the region of Hohe Wand in the north-west meets the rolling hills of Bucklige Welt in the south. This is also where the Eurovel 9 - Thermenradweg cycling route, which leads through the Wechsel region, begins.

Look and marvel

Wiener Neustadt is not just the perfect starting point for hikes along the Arc of the Viennese Alps. In this traditional city, you can go shopping or do a spot of people-watching over coffee and cake. As you walk through the city, you will see points of interest such as the later-Romanesque cathedral and the 13th century “Reckturm” (Torture Tower). The castle in Wiener Neustadt, which is now the headquarters of the Military Academy, is also remarkable.

Top-class events

The Red Bull Air Race - the fastest motorsport event in the world - came to Wiener Neustadt for the first time for the 6th race of the season, following those in Abu Dhabi, Cannes, Chiba and Budapest. The final phase of the 2018 World Championships started in the Vienna Alps. The 14 best racing drivers in the world took to the starting line of the Red Bull Air Race in Wiener Neustadt.

City walks & contemporary history

You can also discover the history of city by following the interesting city walks on “TOWN” - Wiener Neustadt’s digital contemporary history archive. As well as reading about the many exciting themed tours on this website, look out for the QR codes around the city, which provide information on-site.

Shopping in Wiener Neustadt

The historic main square with its Marienmarkt, and the pedestrian zone with its boutiques and cafés offers shopping pleasure in a pleasant atmosphere. If you are looking for a gift, then you can't go wrong with vouchers - they are also redeemable at the Marienmarkt, where, inter alia, the only branch of Meinl am Graben is located. Practical for a stroll in the city centre: the car parks on Ungargasse and in the city park. Incidentally: Parking is free on Thursday afternoons and Saturday afternoons! The spectacular array of shops at the modern Fischapark and Merkurcity shopping centres are not just for a rainy day. There really is something for everyone here.

Bowling, cinemas, cabarets

In addition to great history, there is a lot of fun to be had in the Aqua Nova sports and leisure pool, or in the Arena Nova. Bowling alleys and cinemas extend the range of options. And the programme of the Stadttheater Wiener Neustadt is full of cabarets and performances for all ages. The city can easily be reached from Wiener Neustadt’s main railway station. If you want to get around Wiener Neustadt more quickly, bikes are available to hire from “nextbike”.

Wiener Neustadt, © Wiener Alpen/ Franz Zwickl

Wiener Neustadt

Vom gut gelegenen Wiener Neustadt direkt in die Bergwelt der Wiener Alpen

Bindeglied der Berge und Startpunkt für Ausflüge in die Bergwelt der Wiener Alpen: Wiener Neustadt bietet kurze Wege in die Natur gepaart mit urbanem Flair.

Im schön gelegenen Becken von Wiener Neustadt trifft die Region der Hohen Wand aus dem Nordwesten auf die sanften Hügel der Buckligen Welt im Süden. Hier startet auch der Eurovelo 9 - Thermenradweg, der bis in die Wechselregion führt.

Sehen und staunen

Wiener Neustadt ist aber nicht nur idealer Ausgangspunkt für Wanderungen am Wiener Alpenbogen. In der traditionsreichen Stadt kann man ausgezeichnet shoppen oder bei Kaffee und Kuchen das rege Treiben beobachten. Wer durch die Stadt spaziert, entdeckt Sehenswürdigkeiten wie den spätromanischen Dom von Wiener Neustadt oder den Reckturm aus dem 13. Jahrhundert. Bemerkenswert ist auch die Burg in Wiener Neustadt, sie ist heute Sitz der Militärakademie.

Hochkarätige Events

Das Red Bull Air Race - das schnellste Motorsport-Event der Welt - gastiert anlässlich des 6. Saison-Rennens nach Abu Dhabi, Cannes, Chiba, Budapest und Kazan zum ersten Mal in Wiener Neustadt – und startet in den Wiener Alpen in die finale Phase der Weltmeisterschaft 2018. Die 14 besten Renn-Piloten der Welt gehen beim Red Bull Air Race in Wiener Neustadt an den Start. Beim Qualifying am 15. und beim Rennen am 16. September 2018 fliegen die Piloten mit bis zu 370 km/h durch einen Parcours aus Pylonen.

Stadtspaziergänge & Zeitgeschichte

Die Innenstadt auf historischen Pfaden erkunden kann man mit den interessanten Stadtspaziergängen von TOWN - ein digitales Archiv für Zeitgeschichte in Wiener Neustadt. Neben vielen spannenden Themen-Touren auf der Website finden sich auch QR-Stationen in der Stadt, die historische Erläuterungen direkt vor Ort vermitteln.

Einkaufen in Wiener Neustadt

Der historische Hauptplatz mit dem Marienmarkt und die Fußgängerzone mit Boutiquen und Cafés bieten Einkaufs-Vergnügen mit Ambiente. Wer nach einem Geschenk sucht ist mit den Einkaufsgutscheinen bestens beraten - diese gelten auch am Marienmarkt, wo sich u.a. die einzige Filiale von Meinl am Graben oder ein vorzügliches Fischrestaurant befinden. Praktisch für den Bummel in der Innenstadt: die Parkhäuser in der Ungargasse und - neu - am Stadtpark. Übrigens: Die Parkgebühr entfällt am Donnerstag-Nachmittag sowie am Samstag-Nachmittag! Nicht nur bei Schlechtwetter locken die schillernden Angebote der modernen Shopping-Center Fischapark und Merkurcity. Hier findet wirklich jeder, was er sucht.

Kegeln, Kinos, Kabaretts

Neben großer Geschichte gibt es aber auch große Unterhaltung, etwa im Sport- und Erlebnisbad Aqua Nova oder in der Arena Nova. Auch Bowlingbahnen und Kinos bereichern das Angebot. Und im Stadttheater Wiener Neustadt finden Kabaretts und Theateraufführungen für Jung und Alt statt. Erreichbar ist die Stadt bequem über den Hauptbahnhof Wiener Neustadt. Um sich schnell in Wiener Neustadt zu bewegen, stehen Leihräder von nextbike zur Verfügung. 

Was Sie noch interessieren könnte...